Do we ever really grow up?

Peter Pan’s declaration of, “I’ll never grow up, never grow up, never grow up! Not me!” certainly rings true for a lot of adults and I don’t just mean the young at heart.

Growing up does not necessarily mean you are more mature, nor does it mean the way you behaved as a child will change. What I’ve found more often than not, is that fundamentally, our behaviour as adults really isn’t that different from children.

For example, I’ve seen people (okay, teachers if you want me to be specific) scrolling through Facebook and sending messages during staff meetings when someone else is talking or presenting. They haven’t listened to a word that’s been said and they don’t want to either. My problem with this is that these same people have the audacity to yell at kids to listen and “Get off Facebook!” That’s hypocrisy if ever I saw it.

Not convinced? How about the fact that grown men still giggle at the number ’69?’

And one that I’m guilty of: laughing at farts. I don’t know how many times I have tried to contain myself during a class when a student has done this, but it always fails. I’m not sure why they’re funny, they just are.

The thing that prompted me to write this post this morning was the fact that as I sat learning kanji, I found myself doing the same thing that I did in high school, albeit using technology this time, rather than an actual dictionary. I was typing in swear words or ‘bad words,’ i.e. body parts. What was I? 12?

So my point is, why do we do it? Maybe it’s because some of us are young at heart or maybe, just like Peter Pan, we never really grow up. We are simply taller and older versions of the children we once were.

What are your thoughts?

One thought on “Do we ever really grow up?

  1. I like the old saying “you’re as old as you feel”. That’s why I love hanging around younger children. They not only keep you young at heart but they are also good to use as an excuse to laugh at people’s antics. I too am guilty at laughing at people for farting or tripping, but I do not appreciate people talking or texting while mingling with people. We live in a world of people who are so caught up in themselves that they forget how to live. Laughter is good for the heart and soul so if this means I haven’t grown up then that’s fine by me. We need more laughter in our lives.

Leave a Reply

